New SYRIZA - Independent Greeks Cabinet Announced

Makeup of new government announced

The make-up of the new cabinet has been officially announced by the government.

Pavlos Zafiropoulos

As was expected the economist Yanis Varoufakis was given the key position of Finance Minister. Another influential economist, Nikos Dragasakis was appointed Deputy Prime Minister while Giorgos Stathakis will head the ‘super ministry’ of Economy, Shipping and Tourism. Theodoros Dritsas will be a deputy minister in the same ministry.

Alexis Tsipras has reorganized the government, merging several ministries and creating new bodies, such as the Anti Corruption office to be led by Panos Nikoloudis.

The full cabinet:

Prime Minister - Alexis Tsipras

Deputy Prime Minister – Nikos Dragasakis

Minister of State: Nikos Pappas

Deputy Minister of State: Terence Quick

Parliamentary Speaker: Zoe Konstantopoulou

Minister of State to Coordinate Government Operations: Alekos Flambouris

Minister of State to Combat Corruption: Panagiotis Nikoloudis

Government Spokesperson: Gavril Sakellaridis

Ministry of Interior and Administrative Restructuring

Minister: Nikos Voutsis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Giorgos Katrougalos (Administrative Restructuring)
  • Yiannis Panousis (Protection of Citizens)
  • Maria Kollia Tsaroucha (Macedonia / Thrace)
  • Tasia Christodoulopoulou (Immigration Policy)

Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Shipping and Tourism

Minister: Giorgos Stathakis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Theodoris Dritsas (Shipping)
  • Elena Kountoura (Tourism)
  • Christos Spirtzis (Infrastructure, transport and networks)

Ministry of Productive Reconstruction of the Environment and Energy

Minister: Panagiotis Lafazanis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Yiannis Tsironis (Environment)
  • Vangelis Apostolou (Agricultural Development)
  • Panagiotis Sgouridis

Ministry of Culture and Education

Minister: Aristeidis Baltas

Deputy Ministers:

  • Nikos Xydakis (Culture)
  • Tasos Kourakis (Education)
  • Kostas Fotakis (Research and Innovation)
  • Stavros Kontonis (Sports)

Ministry of Finance

Minister: Yanis Varoufakis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Nadia Valavani
  • Kostas Mardas

Ministry of Health and Social Security

Minister: Panagiotis Kouroublis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Andreas Xanthos (Health)
  • Dimitris Stratoulis (Social Security)

Ministry of Labour and Social Solidarity

Minister: Panos Scourletis

Deputy Ministers:

  • Rania Antonopoulou (Unemployment)
  • Theano Fotiou

Ministry of Defense

Minister: Panos Kammenos

Deputy Ministers:

  • Kostas Isichos
  • Nikos Toskas

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Minister: Nikos Kotzias

Deputy Ministers:

  • Nikos Chountis (European Affairs)
  • Efkleidis Tsakalotos (International Relations)

Ministry of Justice

Minister: Nikos Paraskevopoulos

Οι πιο πρόσφατες Ειδήσεις

Διαβάστε πρώτοι τις Ειδήσεις για ό,τι συμβαίνει τώρα στην Ελλάδα και τον Κόσμο στο